Golden Boot.

There will be plenty of people betting into the Golden Boot market for the World Cup and we have a comprehensive guide to finding the best value bets. The current favourite to win is Lionel Messi, available at a best price of 12/1 with BetStars. That shows how open the betting is and we will give you a few bullets to fire.

Firstly, let’s take a look at the previous winners!

World Cup Golden Boot Winners:


2014 – James Rodriguez (Colombia) – 6 Goals

Goal of the tournament came from the Golden Boot winner, a perfect volley from 25 yards against Uruguay.

2010 – Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Thomas Muller (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) – 5 Goals

All four of these men with their respective countries made it to the semi-final of the 2010 World Cup.

2006 – Miroslav Klose (Germany) – 5 Goals

The most prolific World Cup goal-scorer ever snagged the golden boot in 2006 scoring 5 goals.


2002 – Ronaldo (Brazil) – 8 Goals

The master ran riot, this was one of the best ever goalscoring displays at a World Cup.

1998 – Davor Suker (Croatia) – 6 Goals

The Croatian hitman scored past major nations GermanyFrance, and Netherlands on his way to the Golden Boot.

1994 – Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) – 6 Goals

Salenko scored five goals in one game!


1990 – Salvator Schillachi (Italy) – 6 goals

Schillachi’s goals led Italy to a 3rd place finish in 1990.

1986 – Gary Lineker (England) – 6 Goals

Lineker scored a hat-trick against Poland, a brace past Paraguay and the once against Argentina.

1982 – Paolo Rossi (Italy) – 6 Goals

Rossi scored in the final against Germany and his nation ran out 3-1 victors.


1978 – Mario Kempes (Argentina) – 6 Goals

This win was interesting due to the fact Kempes managed 0 goals in the group round.

1974 – Grzegorz Lato (Poland) – 7 Goals

Poland managed a 3rd place finish in 1974 thanks to Lato’s awesome 7 goal return.

1970 – Gerd Muller (Germany) – 10 Goals

Muller scored hat-tricks in consecutive games against Bulgaria and Peru.


1966 – Eusebio (Portugal) – 9 Goals

During the group stages, Eusebio scored a brace against Brazil which sent them home.

1962 – Florian Albert (Hungary), Garrincha (Brazil), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia), Leonel Sanchez (Chile), Vava (Brazil) – 4 Goals

The only year in which one country had multiple winners (Brazil).

1958 – Just Fontaine (France) – 13 Goals

Fontaine is the record holder for most goals ever at a World Cup.


1954 – Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) – 11 Goals

How about this for form? Score a hat-trick against South Korea, 4 in an 8-3 victory against West Germany and braces against Brazil and Uruguay. Many forget how good the Hungarians were.

1950 – Ademir (Brazil) – 8 Goals

8 goals was a great effort but ultimately Brazil didn’t win the tournament after losing 2-1 to Uruguay in front of nearly 200,000 spectators.

1938 – Leonidas (Brazil) – 7 Goals

Leonidas made a great start the tournament when scoring 3 goals in a thrilling 6-5 victory over Poland.


1934 – Oldrich Nejedly (Czechoslovakia) – 5 Goals 

Nejedly managed a terrific hat-trick against Germany.

1930 – Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) – 8 Goals

Stabile was the top scorer of the first ever World Cup. His side lost out in the final to hosts Uruguay 4-2.

WorldCupAcca Betting Tips:

  • Selection: Thomas Muller
  • Odds: 28/1
  • Bookie(s): Betfred
Muller became only the third player in history to bag 5 goals in his first 2 World Cups along with Teofilo Cubillas and Mr. World Cup himself Miroslav Klose.
With this record in mind Muller seems a sensible bet, whilst I don’t fancy Germany to be blowing teams away in the early stages they should be reaching the Semi at least giving him at least 7 games including either the 3rd place playoff or the final itself.
  • Selection: Romelu Lukaku
  • Odds: 18/1
  • Bookie(s): Betstars
Becoming Belgiums “unofficial” all-time top scorer at just 24 years old, Romelu is an absolute machine and will surely lead the line this year for the Red Devils
He’s still just 25 and has over 100 Premier League goals, scoring 0.46 per match – his last 2 tournaments were something of a disappointment but with the likes of Kevin De Bruyne & Eden Hazard to create chances for him he should be in with a shout.
While Belgium may not go that deep in the tournament, 2 group games vs Tunisia and Panama could be enough for Big Rom to fill his boots.
  • Selection: Gabriel Jesus
  • Odds: 16/1
  • Bookie(s): 10Bet
The Manchester City boy will be making his World Cup debut this year and has 9 goals in 15 appearances for Brazil.
With Neymar coming into the tournament not at 100% he might have to sit out the first couple of games which would leave Jesus on penalty duties as well as being the spearhead of the attack for the tournament favourites.
Francisco Román Alarcón Suárez (Isco) admittedly this is very much an outsider but the Madrid playmaker is a terrific player and has proven himself to be a very accomplished finisher.
With 5 goals he was Spains joint-top scorer in qualifiying along with Alvaro Morata, David Silva & Diego Costa. He also recently bagged a hat-trick against Argentina. Diego Costa will of course start up-front for Spain but Isco should be operating as a number 10 and his link up play may prove fruitful.
Spain should go far in the competition and don’t forget James Rodriguez was 100/1 last time out so this isn’t that far-fetched.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment